Go2 Blog

LOL = Little Old Lady

April 04 2012

Those of you who know us will also know we like to star in our own spots every now and then, kind of cameo appearances. We see it as a kind of fun perk. Y’know, “Guy in cafe”, “Freaked out dude” etc etc.
Well, no one has had more cameo appearances than our very own audio editor and motion graphic artist Klim Levene.
He’s appeared in several spots that have aired nationally. This Thursday we are shooting another series of short commercials, one of which involves a little old lady who fell over… You guessed it we decided to use Klim for the role.
FYI, This is just a test shot without make up, but doesn’t he look perfect as an 85 year old woman. Lol :)


5 Steps for Writing a GREAT Web Video Script

March 27 2012

To write a great web video script, or even a TV commercial script for that matter, be sure to follow these 5 simple steps.

1. KISS (Keep it Short and Simple)
While content trumps length, it’s critical to keep your script to a manageable length. Thirty to sixty seconds is ideal. Once you get above ninety seconds, you better have some pretty great content, or you’ll start losing viewers fast.
Creating a concise script depends on using short sentences and simple language. Always try to avoid industry jargon and make sure to have someone outside of your company review the script before signing off.

2. Set the Tone
Video is powerful precisely because you have the ability to choose a tone for your company and connect with your customers in a way that text cannot.
The tone you choose to write in often depends on the intended audience. However, with any script, it’s safe to assume that your audience wants to watch something engaging, unique and useful. In that case, be personal. The viewer should be able to relate to what you’re talking about. In certain situations (most, in my opinion), a little humor can go a long way.

3. Start with an Elevator Pitch
There are exceptions, but most great marketing videos start with a clear and compelling elevator pitch in the first five seconds. An elevator pitch is your hook. It should quickly convey the core message behind your product or service. Crafting a great pitch can take a lot of time, but once you’ve nailed it, it can significantly help people remember who you are and what makes you unique.

4. Tell a Story
Everyone loves a good story, so why should your video be any different? A story, in essence, is a progression with a beginning and an end. Along the way, it identifies a problem and presents a solution.
Start by identifying the pain point. What is the problem your product or service solves? Make sure you present it in a way that your audience can easily identify with. Oftentimes, walking through a simple scenario or case example can help viewers connect.
Once you’ve painted a compelling picture of the problem, present your solution. What makes your product or service the ideal solution? Why should they choose you over the competition? Be clear and confident with your value proposition. Your solution should create a desire in the viewer to act, and act soon.

5. What’s in it for Me?
Throughout the script, never forget to be continually answering the key question every viewer will have, “what’s in it for me?” From start to finish, your video should be focused on your potential customer, what they want and how you can help them get it. Finally, end your script with a call to action – a next step the viewer can take to get started.
Writing a great script is hard work, but when you do it right, it will pay dividends. By using a personal tone, simple language, an interesting story and a valuable offer, you’re well on your way to creating a video that sells.

Comedy in advertising.

March 19 2012

Some of the most successful & memorable TV commercials of all time have been built around a concept involving comedy. The reason for this, I think,  is simple… we all like to laugh. We will more likely tell a friend about a tv commercial or ad campaign if it is funny and we’ll probably remember it well after the campaign has ended. Especially if the concept is based on something we do every day, something we can all relate to either at work or at home.  Obviously comedy doesn’t work for some services or products, but for most it should certainly be considered as an option. We have produced several comedic spots, some of which are shown in our portfolio, you can use the search bar at the top of this website and submit the word : comedy.

Online Video Content – Let’s Break It Down.

March 13 2012

How much demand is there for online video content today ?

A LOT! In fact, it’s staggering!  14.6 Billion online videos were viewed in May 2010 alone & that number is growing fast.  Video content is everywhere.  By 2014, it is expected that 90% of all internet traffic & 66% of all mobile data will be video content.  In addition to that, the demand for 3D and HD content is growing exponentially.  Advertisers using YouTube multiplied 10 times in 2011 & online video advertising revenues are expected to swell from 1.97 billion dollars in 2009 to over 5 billion dollars in 2014. With all this video content online and attention spans on average shrinking below the 1 minute mark, you need to stand out & get to the point fast! That’s where Go 2 Productions can help.  We specialize in creating high impact video content that breaks through the clutter, reaches your audience and tells your story.

Motion Graphics and 3D Animation can be very powerful for corporate video production, web video production and tv commercial production.  If you’re looking to have video content created to sell your service or product, then you need to contact Go 2 Productions, now!

Welcome to the New Look, of Go 2 Productions!

February 24 2012

Thank you for being one of the first visitors to your new Go 2 website, where we are thrilled to share our latest work, show behind the scenes (including pictures/bios of our staff) and a new learning section. Everyday in every way we are striving to improve our ability to deliver high impact content design and production to each and every one of our clients. Please click around and let us know what you think. We’d love to hear your comments and feedback!


1 Minute of Video is equivalent to 1.8 million words!

January 20 2012

Today, online video is responsible for 30% of all Internet traffic.
By 2013, it is estimated that 90% of all Internet traffic will be video. (report from Cisco)
By 2014, roughly 66% of the worlds mobile data traffic will be video.

Between 2009 and 2014, 3D and HD Internet video will have increased to 46% of all Internet video traffic.
In the same time frame, online video ad spending will swell from $1.97 billion to $5.71 billion.

More video is uploaded to YouTube in 60 days than the 3 major U.S. networks produced in 60 years.
65% of U.S. executives surveyed by Forbes in October 2010 visit a vendor’s website after viewing a work-related online video.

Catching the e-tail trend, 55% of online retailers used video on product pages in 2009 but this technique increased to 73% of retailers in 2010.

According to Internet Retailer, an April 2010 report stated that consumers who watch product videos are 85% more likely to buy products compared to those who do not watch.

In an August 2010 report from comScore, online retail shoppers who watch video spend about two minutes more on that site.
By properly implementing video to their site maps, Discovery Channel increased their video streams by 123%.

Watching a minute of video is the equivalent of reading 1.8 million words according to Dr. James McQuivey of Forrester Research.

Virtually 60% of respondents said they would watch video previous to reading text on the same web page.

75% of all executives said they watched work-related videos on business websites at least once a week, and more than 50% use YouTube to watch those videos.

High Impact Content Is King

December 20 2011

Today we have an incredible opportunity to grow sales and profit with the use of high impact video content. With so many low cost (ie:Social Marketing/YouTube) and free ways to distribute your commercial message, using high impact video to capture and convert audience is an essential tool to increase business.  It wasn’t long ago when only a few businesses could afford to reach the masses with their commercial messages by purchasing television and radio ‘spots’.  Others chose to create DVD’s as their medium, but now with online streaming video in addition to TV and radio, the playing field is open to all.  However, this presents a daunting challenge. How to cut through, grab attention and make an impact with these impressions? So much so that the audience willingly shares (viral) this message with their community.

To make an impact, grab and hold attention is to gain sales and profit. From the very first second your video begins and into the next and subsequent seconds that follow, the challenge continues.  We need to show the audience things they haven’t seen before, to shock the Broca’s area of the mind, give them something compelling enough to take action, to seek more information about your product or service or perhaps even to make an immediate purchase.

Our goal at Go 2 is to create High Impact Video for our clients using every tool available. This may include motion graphics, 3D animation, live action, visual effects, stock images, voice over and music, whatever it takes to tell the story and cause a reaction from the audience. As we move into 2012, this task will become even more challenging as the audience has so many viewing choices and a limited time to watch and be engaged. Contact us today and lets create something compelling together. We look forward to helping you in the years ahead.

We are thankful to all of our wonderful clients and to you for sharing your time with us. From all the staff at Go2, we wish you all the best to you and your loved ones this holiday season.

Why should you have video content on your website ?

October 10 2011

It’s a fact, video sells!

Video statistics continue to show that web video is a great way to sell your product or services like never before. Here, we go through some facts and figures to show you why you should have video on your website. If you’re not adding video to your e-commerce, your competition is.

Engage your customers…
There is no doubt that video is now the best way to engage and interact with your customers building long-term relationships and customer loyalty. Web videos on your website increases visitor time on page statistics. Compared to images, charts and graphics, web video engages your visitors and builds your brand like nothing else.

Higher ROI…
Studies have shown that web video can deliver a higher ROI compared to traditional paid advertising techniques such as PPC (Pay-per-click) or banner ads. According to Eyeblaster, video increased dwell rate time on ads by 20% and dwell time by 100%. Web video also increases brand awareness and brand loyalty.

Build customer loyalty…
As the online retail market develops, acquiring new customers is becoming tougher due to competition and more complex customer behavior. So repeat business and monetization is key for the online retailer to survive.

Web videos build brand loyalty, trust and engagement. According to a recent study by IMRG Cap gemini e-Retail, 13% of shoppers found video useful when purchasing products and 57% of this group act as brand advocates, actively informing others of the products and web sites they like.

Reduce returns…
Compared to images or text, video can be the best way to describe and inform your customers about your product before purchase.

For example your video shows how big your bag is when your presenter demonstrates putting the bag on over her shoulder compared to static images. Your customers get a much better idea of the size, colour, depth of the bag and the length of the straps.

The more your customer is informed about your products, the lower the number of likely returns or customer service calls to your call centre. Some retailers have reported a reduction of returns by 25% as a result of adding web videos. A minute of video is worth 1.8 million words according to Dr. James McQuivey of Forrester Research

Increased conversion rates…
Conversion rate is simply the calculation of the number of visitors to a web page on your site compared to how many actually completed a goal on that page.

For example, how many visitors purchased your new black dress on promotion last week? Your stats show that 1000 visitors visited your promotion page but only 100 visitors clicked the add to cart button on the page. So your conversion rate was (100 / 1000) * 100 = 10%. Not bad.

Statistics have shown that web videos can increase your conversion rate between 12%-115%. On average retailers have reported 30% increase. However, some retailers have reported 400%.

Beat your competition…
Web video for e-commerce is still in its infancy as retailers slowly begin to realize the full potential and cost effectiveness of video. By adding video to your website you are already getting ahead of your competition.

Changing consumer behavior
According to ComScore 80.1% of the UK Internet users watched video online in 2009. As online video begins to replace traditional TV for watching video and online video becomes more readily available your visitors will soon expect to watch video on your website. Retailers may begin to lose customers to their competitors because of a lack of video content demonstrating their products.

Go 2 Productions…
In the past 5 years, Go 2 has successfully designed and created hundreds of engaging web videos for a multitude of industries ranging from an average of 15 seconds to 2-3 minutes (recommended max). Whether it’s motion graphics, 3D animation or something completely different, the quality of our work speaks for itself. Click
to visit our portfolio to see for yourself and call us on 1 866 408 5844 to discuss how we can help concept a web video or series of videos for your website.

Urthecast – International Space Station Video Cameras

September 23 2011

Next year (2012) sees the launch of a very special piece of equipment, the UrtheCast
camera pairing, that will be installed on the belly of the International Space Station
The two cameras, one still photography and the other live video have a very high
resolution that can see cars and even groups of gathered people etc. The video
camera can be booked by the general public to target a location and film it as the
ISS passes over head at a height of between 350km and 450km and at a ground speed
of more than 17,000 miles per hour.
UrtheCast asked us to produce an animated video showing approximate locations of
the cameras on the craft and to highlight the benefits and features of what to
expect once the cameras go live. 3D animation of the ISS and cameras was the obvious
This video illustrated how Go 2 Productions 3D animation can effectively be used
to explain the most inaccessible or complex systems and processes imaginable.

Trail Appliances – New TV Spot

September 15 2011

Trail Appliances New Flag Ship Store – TV Commercial

Trail Appliances recently opened their flagship store here in Vancouver BC. A huge
interactive showroom where you can actually test their appliances as though they
were installed in your own home.

We were required to produce 2 new commercials that showcased their inventory at
the store. We shot the new footage at their location using a jib to capture beautiful
high quality sweeping shots and well framed close ups.

Having now completed several commercials for Trail Appliances, we were able to pull
some graphic elements from previous campaigns and enhance them further for the new


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